Rabbitsss Cover

Available on iTunes


Penguins is available for purchase at these fine MP3 peddlers:


Facebook Page

Here’s a sneak peak into the debut album “Penguins” from duo Rabbitsss.

This tune features Rob Burger (Tin Hat Trio, John Zorn, Iron & Wine) guesting on slide guitar and harmonium.

Classically-trained Australian composer Rae Howell and Brooklyn electronic musician Jon Cohrs generate a sonic landscape evoking diverse musical traditions, while grounded in electronics. Cohrs’ background can be heard in the smattering of samples but also in the hidden shuffling of feet, a squeak of a chair, the intentional human presence within the recordings, while Howell’s modulating compositions and musicianship create a driving sense of melody. The results of Howell’s talents on marimba, vibraphone and keys, and Cohrs’ electronic manipulations and production – both rhythmic and non sequitur – are captured on record with an ear toward the serendipitous moments of performance.

While the album’s 12 tracks flow effortlessly into and out of one another without a word, ‘Penguins’ takes on many personas. These numbers evoke any number of locales, situations and perspectives: the windy afternoon of “On the Roof” and “Rooftop II”; the slow building rhythm on “Penguins”; the post-modern wedding dance of the title track. Throughout ‘Penguins’, Howell’s lush orchestrations dance eloquently through Cohrs’ disarming electronics, resulting in a multi-dimensional work that combines digital production with the organic sounds of musicians performing in a room. RABBITSSS’ music transcends easy categorization and presents a compelling fusing of old and new worlds that is methodical in its application, yet decidedly musical at its core.


Facebook                      SoundCloud


Out Now!


1 Incdntlly
2 Haus Mic
3 Stretched Out
4 Just A Tree
5 Penguins
6 On The Roof
7 Vegislop
8 Double
9 Crooked
10 Rooftop II
11 Deaf Ears
12 Last Grey Day

Out on Misty Fjord Records, mfj 11.

Contact Info